So much Thanksgiving

69. The corn on the cob place cards the kids worked together to make for Thanksgiving

70.  Kids wrote great journal entries today

71.  Kids know their shapes

72.  Ice water

73.  Seeing Abby when I get my coffee on Wednesday and Thursday

74.  Dallas writing

75.  That I get to homeschool

76.  That when I look in the mirror I see my mom’s hair, my dad’s lips, and the same eyes as my precious brother and sister

77.  Quiet afternoons

78. Bike riding

79. Kelly Earley

80. All the people who encourage me about writing

81.  My Bible that I got for Christmas in middle school and keep together with packing tape

82.  Mollassus cookies

83.  Cold camping

84.  Kenny reminding me of all the songs that meant so much when we used to sing them in youth group

85.  I don’t have to work as well as go to school

86. That  Kaitlyn and I can talk

87.  I can read

88.  The kid’s camel backs

89. Elliana giving Princess Presto a bath at night

90.  Campfire smell

91.  The prophet Isaiah

92.  Naps

93.Fog

94. Making breakfast while the kids sleep

95.  When my kids have good table manners

96. The Hunger Games and all books that end the way I want them to

97.  My Kindle

98. All

99.  Bryan’s sunday school lesson about taming the tonge

100.

Dear God,

What you did tonight was awesome.  I was in the hall outside the kid’s room ensuring that Elliana went back to bed after using the potty, or sorting the laundry, or something, when suddenly Dallas shot up in his bed.  The light from the hall just reached him in his top bunk.  Thank God that I didn’t yell at him to lay back down.  “I just can’t keep this secret any longer!”  He cried with obvious distress.  He held out the sleeping bag Grammy Kelly made for his stuffed lobster lovey.  The opening was bunched in his hand like a sack.  “I was planning on eating this candy in the middle of the night.”  He went explaining how he had hidden his treats brought home that evening from a birthday party and was planning on a secret feast.  He looked like he might cry with the weight of the guilt.  I took the candy from his hand, and then wrapped him in my arms- overwhelmed at the responsibility of response.  I didn’t want to just blurt out the standard “I’m so proud of you for telling the truth,” because the truth is times have been hard for our family of late, and moments like these, of sudden success, have been very, very few.  So I just hugged him and then suddenly You gave me the words to speak out of the overflow of Your heart instead of mine.  “Dallas, do you know what this means?”  “What?”  He can hear the excitement in my voice and has no idea what is coming next.  “The Holy Spirit just spoke to you!  God who created everything just did something for you- just you- that he didn’t do for anyone else in the whole world!  He told you it was wrong to hide that candy and caused you to tell the truth!  That’s awesome!  That’s incredible!”  All Dallas; guilt melted away to joy.  He glowed with it.  “And He made my head feel all ouchy from the candy under my pillow!”  “That’s right,” I replied, by now with tears in my eyes because I so needed this proof/reassurance that You will work in Dallas’ heart.  Is it a reward for the changes I have made recently?  I don’t know what I said next.  I know I thanked You, God, and the tears in my eyes fell out onto Dallas’ pillow.   I told him “congratulations,” and said goodnight again.  I know the words I spoke came from You, God, because they had the perfect effect on Dallas.  He glowed, shined with the joy of it.   Only Your words can water the heart like rain on the ground and produce crops, a harvest, fruit.  The amazing thing is that You used this whole thing not just for Dallas but to bring to life what you are teaching me. My first thought leaving the kids’ room was “I actually did something right for once,” but as I thought through the experience I realized that those words were from You, and I remembered the sermon I had just listened to about David.  I creid out like David hen he finished preparing for Solomon to build the temple.  “You’ve done this awesome thing through me!  Thank you!”  It even gives me a chance to practice what I have been learning about prayer- retelling for You what You have done for me. What You did tonight, God, it was awesome.

101 A new mission in prayer

102 Telling God what He has done for me

103.  The attitude of David: You did this awesome thing for me

104.  God giving me something specific to be thankful for on thanksgiving

105.  Delicious food

106. Friends who text me out of bed on a Saturday just to hang out

107.  Humble people, who have no reason to be

108.  Awesome stuff God does

109. Geese honkingn

110.  Rose blooming on Thanksgiving Day

111. Pretty tables

112. Clean rooms

113. The big red chair that makes my back stop hurting

114. Gas in the car

115. Easy to plan outfits

116. Blue homemade sweater

117.  Elliana holding the ends of the ribbon as I braid it into her hair.  Our fingers working together.

118.  Social events where kids play happily and no one gets in trouble

119.  Nights when Elliana doesn’t have a temper tantrum at bedtime

120.  Kids helping me clean the sunroom

121. Five days living with my kids

122. People who have accepted me

123.  While I have been writing this week my three kids decided they wanted to make gingerbread houses and they didn’t want to wait till I was done.  Since my laptop is in the kitchen I printed off a recipe for frosting and told them to go for it and what do you think happened? Are visions of powerdered sugar blizzards and sticky mouths screaming at eachother dancing through your head like they did through mine?  There are candy wrappers on the floor, and David is feeding Elliana peanut M&Ms “like she’s a baby,” but there is something else too, hiding behind all the candy and sugar.  Sweetness.  My little guys just worked together, with only minimal help to locate three milk cartons and settle a debate over who got the last gobstopper.  They actually made frosting, and then used it to cover their milk cartons with graham crackers, and right now David is making a Gingerbread Puppy Dog, complete with tail, Dallas is building chocolate shutters, and Elliana is going back and forth between brothers singing “open your mouth and shut your eyes and you will get a big suprise,” then popping M&M’s into their mouths.   What could be more sweet than this?  I hope you have as much to be thankful for this week!

Leave a Reply

