Where We Live

After an epic battle between Erica and the concrete walls (which left both parties crumbling,) our pictures are hung!  With everything in it’s place it is time for me to show you around our place.  So welcome to our wonderful home in Seoul, Korea!

This is the view from one end of our apartment.  The hotel in the background is the nicest in Seoul and has awesome fireworks displays at new years.

Our neighborhood:  This is the view from one end of our apartment. The hotel in the background is the nicest in Seoul and has awesome fireworks displays at new years.  If you could pan below you would see the “upper playground.”

 

Our room: quilt by my mother, photos of our wedding by Dave Brandes.  Both remind me of great things God has done for me, and both remind me of people I love.

Our Room: My mother made the quilt, Dave Brandes took most of the photos of our wedding. Both remind me of great things God has done for me, and both remind me of people I love. 

Diningroom: though the furniture is all army loan, this room is full of reminders. There's a keyboard that reminds us of dear Tia Nessa, and frame off the left margin that reminds us of her sweet parents, plus off to the right a bookcase full of memories of varies people and times in our lives.  (See my homeschool closet in the back?)

Dining Room: Although the furniture is all army loan, this room is full of reminders. There’s a keyboard that reminds us of dear Tia Nessa, a frame off the left margin that reminds us of her sweet parents, and off to the right a bookcase full of memories of varies people and times in our lives. Here Kylie is making puppets using supplies from our home school closet in the back.

Kitchen/Laundry room: My last GA candle from Jenny Brown sits up on the self waiting for a really, really homesick day!  The mason jars Joanne Brandes gave me from the family farm serve many purposes.

Kitchen/Laundry Room:
My last GA candle from Jenny Brown sits up on the self waiting for a really, really homesick day! The mason jars Joanne Brandes gave me from the family farm serve many purposes but right now they store beans and the family chore lottery.  (Also, see the wine glasses Kenny won hula hooping?  I will repeat that: “Kenny won HULA HOOPING!”

Livingroom:  I plan to hang the windows which came from Kenny's brother's ancient farm house, and I love using my mom's steamer trunk from college as a coffee table, plus all the dandelions and tiny daisies the kids pick are perfect in the ikebana my parents bought me at that bed and breakfast they love in TN.

Living Room: I plan to hang the windows which came from Kenny’s brother’s ancient farm house, and I love using my mom’s steamer trunk from college as a coffee table, plus all the dandelions and tiny daisies the kids pick are perfect in the ikebana my parents bought me at that bed and breakfast they love in TN.

 

I love the girl's room- it reminds me of an antique store somehow.  The quilt on Kylie's bed was mine when I was her age.

I love the girl’s room- it reminds me of an antique store somehow. The quilt on Kylie’s bed was mine when I was her age, and the cradle next to Elliana’s was mine when I was her age.

I also love the boy's room- it reminds me of a tree fort with the map and the built in bookcase.

I also love the boy’s room- it reminds me of a tree fort with the map that Grammy Pammy bought and the built in bookcase.  Elliana is making a big deal of showing off how clean it is because this rarely happens.

The only room I didn’t get to photograph is Cody’s.  Since he just moved in his room is still a work in progress, but so far it is filled with guitars, some really neat original art work he is working on, and a teenager’s ubiquitous dirty laundry.

I was really surprised by the space and sunshine in our concrete box in the sky.  I honestly love this little home- it feels cool and sunny and quiet.  In the decor you can find reminders of Germany, Korea, Texas, and Georgia, of our families and our dear friends, and of the times God has brought us through to show us Himself.  In the old testament God told his people to gather stones of remembrance-  physical reminders they could point to to remind themselves and teach their children what God had done.  Moving to Korea helped us strip down a lot of the extra stuff in our house and of what remains almost every piece reminds us of a person who loves us or a work God has done for us.  With such decor dusting the house has become a cause for praise!  Really, I love our house, and I hope that it is always a showcase for God greatness.

Leave a Reply

