Contentment

Kids are a delight.

They have the sweetest, most excited generosity.

007

 

They wear cute clothes.

015

They know how to delight in everything from cats to fountains to roof tops.

099

058

169

They have adventures in their heads, and look beautiful no matter what they are doing.

250

170

 

Kids are a delight- but most days I am miserable.  I can see how awesome my life is, but I can’t convince my heart to stop generating overwhelming waves of frusteration, disastisfaction, and self pity.  I don’t think I’m unusual in this.

God created us women to serve.  Look in Genesis and 1 Peter and you will see that God created us so that our beauty shows up most in serving, gently and quietly.

So if we were created with the ability to be God’s hands and love towards others it makes sense that Satan would much rather we focus on ourselves.  God made us women to serve others, but Satan has robbed us of the joy and peace and beauty that God built into this purpose by convincing us we must also ensure that our needs are met.

I can write a long list of things I should have that I don’t.  I could give that list to any christian woman and I bet they would agree with it and tell me I needed to “fill my emotional tank.”  I even saw an awesome movie recently that told moms they needed to put on their own oxygen masks first, but I have to stop and think- what is there on that list that can fill me?

Can girl time make me stop feeling like no one cares?  Could a run or an adequate wardrobe make me feel beautiful?  Could a romantic date with my husband make me not care when my kids won’t listen?  I think I could get every good thing a girl could have and still be miserable.  I think my list is just an excuse to not fight the battle in my mind.

God calls all humanity to joy.  Philipians 4:4 “Rejoice in the Lord ALWAYS, and again I say rejoice.”  And the gospel- Christ dieing so my stupidity isn’t my definition- is reason enough to rejoice.  Psalm 118:29 says “Give thanks to the Lord, He is good; For his lovingkindness is everlasting.” Psalm 118 says God has opened the gates of righteousness and thanks to God we can go through them.  God has saved us.  Not only has God removed every mistake you’ve ever made- and for me that is the only way I can hold my head up- but He has taken charge of the future and will spin it to your advantage.  Finally, He has crafted this very minute to give you a taste of Himself.  All that means freedom from guilt, from fear, from stress, from all my excuses for misery.

As women, Satan knows He can block us from this joy if he can just get us to focus on ourselves.  Our emotions make his job easy.  The Bible says to take every thought captive, and I think that also means every feeling.  Daily I am overwhelmed by my feelings, but God is calling me to contentment- to spending my energy on the purpose He has given me rather than my feelings.  To trusting that He will meet my needs and I need only to live the life He unfolds before me.  To call on Him in my stress and act on the answers He gives me.  God made me for a beautiful job, and He is waiting to train to me to perfect joy in it, if I will choose to be ruled by the gospel instead of my feelings.   So, I am making a commitment to contentment- to say “This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it- no excuses.”

(Psalm 118:24)

 

5 responses

  1. I love this, friend, and you surely are not alone in this. I think this has been one of the most discontent summers I have had in a long time. There has been no tank filling of any kind. I’ve been prone to self-pity pretty much for weeks and feel that my joy is just GONE! I feel it’s because I have subtly bought into the world’s message that a fulfilled life is daily Starbuck’s, meals out, date nights, pedicures, beach trips, movies, never thinking twice about how much is in the grocery cart, big homes, and doing this all with lots and lots of friends. And while there isn’t necessarily anything wrong with all of that, I feel God is reshaking me to my core to say..”Those things don’t matter. I matter. Serve me. Serve my people. Live with purpose. Pay attention. Find people who care about what I care about. You’ve lost your joy? I’m your joy. You feel alone and isolated? I’m The Way. I’m the answer to every question, every sorrow, every hurt, every need.”

    I so get where you are right now and all I can offer is prayer and the fellowship of sufferings. And I have to say that the Cat Cafe is looking very fun. Look for the joy, my friend. You are a good mom, wife, and friend. When I feel my joy waning, I’ll pray for yours and mine.

    • Kim, I’m so glad God is teaching us both! Isn’t it awesome that He just keeps doing that through our whole lives? I’m honored to be learning the same lesson as you. What grace!

  2. Thank you so much for this. I needed to hear it so very badly. Thank you for pointing back to scripture and the only place we can find fulfillment and rest: Christ.

    • Oh I’m so glad! I love getting a glimpse at Gods glory in the lives of others. I think being allowed to look into the other Christians lives is like getting a second window to see Him. Thanks for sharing y’all’s lives on your blog!

Leave a Reply

